Trekking Mont Blanc

Trekking Mont Blanc

On this Trekking Mont Blanc trip experience the fresh air of Europe as you trek the Alps from France to Italy and Switzerland along the Tour du Mont Blanc. This challenging hiking circuit will reward you with mesmerising views of glaciers, steep valleys and, of course, Mont Blanc itself. Travel across high passes and through Alpine meadows and recharge at night with delicious mountain cuisine in simple refuges. Challenge yourself to conquer one of the world’s premier hiking routes and uncover the alpine heart of Europe on this incredible active 10-day adventure.

Our intense 10-day trekking tour is rated at a Physical Demand level of five, our highest rating. People who have taken this tour sometimes say it is more intense than the Inca Trail to Machu Picchu, Peru!
For avid outdoor people and enthusiastic trekkers, this is the trip you want to take, spending 10-days circling the highest mountain in Western Europe! You’ll cross France, Italy and Switzerland and stay in mountain refuges during your trek.

Meals are a big part of this tour, so bring some extra money along to load up on homemade foods, especially carbs…and maybe some great wine too after your well-deserved breaks.

This Mont Blanc tour includes a cable car ride to start the trek at Bellevue. The trek is also a photographers paradise with sweeping views and treks along the Vallée des Chapieux, Val Veny, Grandes Jorassses Ridge, the Bovine Way and Chamonix Valley – to name just a few highlights.

Glacial lakes, wild flowers and rivers, as well as mountain ridges and rustic villages will be your canvas of inspiration on this European adventure! Pack some well broken in boots and warm clothes! Trekking days typically last from 6-8 hours with our maximum altitude hitting 2537m when we cross the Grand Col Ferret before entering Switzerland.

Detail Description
Destination France
Holiday Type Guided Trekking
Start/Finish Chamonix
Duration 10 Days
Grade Challenging
Distance 100km+
Season June – September

What we do

We put together the trip for you: reserve the hotels, transfer the luggage and organise your transfers to the start of your itineraries. Each tour includes a complete Road book with detailed itineraries, information for visits along the way, a detailed map and total peace of mind with our 24-hour local support.

We work with local operators through-out each destination that are passionate about their regions.

We can tailor make this tour, if you want to add an extra rest day, spend a few days relaxing before or after the trip just let us know and we will be happy to provide a quotation.

Day 1 Chamonix-Mont-Blanc
Arrive at any time.

Day 2 Chamonix-Mont-Blanc/Les Contamines-Montjoie
Travel to Les Houches and enjoy a 24km (14 mi) hike through the stunning countryside to Les Contamines and savour a delicious dinner in the evening.

Meals included: Dinner

Day 3 Les Contamines-Montjoie/Les Chapieux
Hike the challenging 18km (11 mi) from Les Contamines to Les Chapieux.

Meals included: Breakfast | Dinner

Day 4 Les Chapieux/Courmayeur
Pass glacial lakes on the 23km (14 mi) trek from Les Chapieux to the Italian town of Courmayeur.

Meals included: Breakfast

Day 5 Courmayeur
Opt to ride a cable car to Pointe Helbronner or go for a day hike.

Meals included: Breakfast

Day 6 Courmayeur/Val Ferret
Hike the 14km (8.6 mi) from Courmayeur to the Italian Val Ferret. It’s a steep climb but the rewarding views are worth it.

Meals included: Breakfast | Dinner

Day 7 Val Ferret/La Fouly
Embark on a long, steep hike of 20km (12 mi) followed by a stay in the Swiss mountain village of La Fouly.

Meals included: Breakfast | Dinner

Day 8 La Fouly/Trient
Follow the “Bovine Way” and trek from La Fouly to Trient.

Meals included: Breakfast | Dinner

Day 9 Trient/Chamonix-Mont-Blanc
Enjoy a final day of trekking over the Col de la Balme to the Chamonix valley. Take local transport back to Chamonix.

Meals included: Breakfast

Day 10 Chamonix-Mont-Blanc
Depart at any time.

Dates Price
June
Friday 14 June 2019 – Sunday 23 June 2019 €1279
Saturday 15 June 2019 – Monday 24 June 2019 €1279
Sunday 16 June 2019 – Tuesday 25 June 2019 €1279
Monday 17 June 2019 – Wednesday 26 June 2019 €1279
Tuesday 18 June 2019 – Thursday 27 June 2019 €1279
Wednesday 19 June 2019 – Friday 28 June 2019 €1279
Thursday 20 June 2019 – Saturday 29 June 2019 €1279
Friday 21 June 2019 – Tuesday 2 July 2019 €1279
Saturday 22 June 2019 – Thursday 4 July 2019 €1279
Sunday 23 June 2019 – Saturday 6 July 2019 €1279
Monday 24 June 2019 – Monday 8 July 2019 €1279
Tuesday 25 June 2019 – Tuesday 9 July 2019 €1279
July
Monday 1 July 2019 – Wednesday 10 July 2019 €1349
Tuesday 2 July 2019 – Thursday 11 July 2019 €1349
Friday 5 July 2019 – Sunday 14 July 2019 €1349
Saturday 6 July 2019 – Monday 15 July 2019 €1349
Sunday 7 July 2019 – Tuesday 16 July 2019 €1349
Thursday 11 July 2019 – Saturday 20 July 2019 €1349
Tuesday 16 July 2019 – Thursday 25 July 2019 €1349
Wednesday 17 July 2019 – Friday 26 July 2019 €1349
Thursday 18 July 2019 – Saturday 27 July 2019 €1349
Friday 19 July 2019 – Sunday 28 July 2019 €1349
Saturday 20 July 2019 – Monday 29 July 2019 €1349
Monday 22 July 2019 – Wednesday 31 July 2019 €1349
Tuesday 23 July 2019 – Thursday 1 August 2019 €1349
Saturday 27 July 2019 – Monday 5 August 2019 €1349
Monday 29 July 2019 – Wednesday 7 August 2019 €1349
August
Thursday 1 August 2019 – Saturday 10 August 2019 €1349
Friday 2 August 2019 – Sunday 11 August 2019 €1349
Tuesday 6 August 2019 – Thursday 15 August 2019 €1349
Wednesday 7 August 2019 – Friday 16 August 2019 €1349
Saturday 10 August 2019 – Monday 19 August 2019 €1349
Wednesday 14 August 2019 – Friday 23 August 2019 €1349
Saturday 17 August 2019 – Monday 26 August 2019 €1419
Sunday 18 August 2019 – Tuesday 27 August 2019 €1419
Monday 19 August 2019 – Wednesday 28 August 2019 €1419
Wednesday 21 August 2019 – Friday 30 August 2019 €1419
Thursday 22 August 2019 – Saturday 31 August 2019 €1419
Saturday 24 August 2019 – Monday 2 September 2019 €1419
Wednesday 28 August 2019 – Friday 6 September 2019 €1419
Friday 30 August 2019 – Sunday 8 September 2019 €1419
September
Sunday 1 September 2019 – Tuesday 10 September 2019 €1419
Monday 2 September 2019 – Wednesday 11 September 2019 €1419
Tuesday 3 September 2019 – Thursday 12 September 2019 €1419
Wednesday 4 September 2019 – Friday 13 September 2019 €1419
Thursday 5 September 2019 – Saturday 14 September 2019 €1419
Friday 6 September 2019 – Sunday 15 September 2019 €1419
Saturday 7 September 2019 – Monday 16 September 2019 €1419
Monday 9 September 2019 – Wednesday 18 September 2019 €1419

Accommodations
Hotels (2 nts), basic hotels (2 nts, possibly multi-share), mountain refuges (5 nts, multi-share).

Meals
7 breakfasts, 5 dinners
Allow USD225-295 for meals not included.

Transportation
Local bus, walking, cable car

Staff & experts
Qualified International Mountain Leader as CEO throughout.

Mont Blanc Trekking FAQ
Where will we sleep?

Accommodations differ depending on the route you take. Hardy trekkers will stay in mountain refuges for the full alpine experience. If you’re looking for a bit more comfort, other routes feature hotel stays every night. One thing’s for certain: You’re guaranteed a comfortable night’s sleep after a day in the mountains.

When should I go?

The best time to trek is during the summer months of July and August. Earlier in the year, the weather can be somewhat unpredictable, with snow staying on the mountains until late in the year. This doesn’t mean that the other months are bad, though, as the views of the mountains are just as spectacular when they’re covered in snow.

What will we eat?

Just because you’re up in the Alps doesn’t mean you’ll miss out on delicious French cuisine. Although the food up in the mountains can be more rustic and basic, there is still the opportunity to enjoy hearty meals that will give you the energy you need to keep hiking in search of those majestic views.

What equipment should I bring?

This is a serious trekking trip, so a sturdy, well-worn pair of walking boots is a must. If you’re used to trekking with walking poles or other equipment, bring it along. Due to the changeable conditions in the Alps, we recommend packing a few layers to keep warm, and a waterproof jacket to keep the rain off.

I’ve never trekked before. Is that a problem?

Although not everyone puts Mont Blanc in the same category as Kili or Everest, the Tour du Mont Blanc is a challenging hike. Some degree of experience will definitely make the trip easier. However, with two routes to choose from, it’s easy to find a trip that matches your level of expertise.

Important Notes

1. Please note that this trip is rated Physical Grade 5 and is a backpacking trekking trip from start to finish. Passengers are required to carry their own packs and there are no support vehicles. It is possible to leave some gear at the hotel in Chamonix as the trip begins and ends here. Night stops and routes may vary depending on weather conditions, daily group progress and availability. Flexibility is very important. Please see the equipment list for essential information on what to take

2. Please note that this trip travels through remote and rugged Alpine terrain. Extremes of heat and cold may be encountered and the route involves some long and demanding trekking days carrying all your own gear. The CEO will accompany you on the treks; however, there are up to 12 people in a group and the trip is self-supported. There are no luggage transport, porters or guides. Therefore it is important that you are a fit and confident walker over mountain terrain, able to manage ascents and descents and cross streams by yourself. Please realistically self-assess your fitness and suitability for this trip.
Please note that on most days there is no possibility of continuing by public transport; taxis may sometimes be possible if you are not able to continue walking but these cannot be guaranteed and will be at your own expense

Group Leader Description

This group trip is accompanied by one of our Chief Experience Officers (CEOs). The aim of the CEO is to take the hassle out of your travels and to help you have the best trip possible. They will provide information on the places you are travelling through, offer suggestions for things to do and see, recommend great local eating venues and introduce you to our local friends. While not being guides in the traditional sense you can expect them to have a broad general knowledge of the countries visited on the trip, including historical, cultural, religious and social aspects. The CEO will accompany you on the treks; however, there are up to 12 people in a group and the trip is self-supported, there are no luggage transport, porters or guides. Therefore it is important that you are a fit and confident walker over mountain terrain, able to manage ascents and descents and cross streams by yourself.

On Mont Blanc, we employ the services of fully-trained International Mountain Leaders (IML). The IML qualification requires significant international trekking experience followed by 3 weeks of training and assessment in the Alps in both summer and winter conditions. The training includes avalanche awareness, dealing with altitude sickness, being aware of the surrounding elements and an understanding of physiology. With experienced IMLs guiding you on your trek, you are guaranteed the best possible experience whilst in the mountains.

Your Accommodation

Hotels (2 nts), basic hotels (2 nts, possibly multi-share), mountain refuges (5 nts, multi-share).

Flights are not included in the price. Adventure Holidays do not book flights. We will  advise you on best times, dates and airfares to book.

Fly to Geneva.

We recommend that you use the following company for all your travel enquiries.
http://www.chamonix-valley-transfers.co.uk/

Contact
Office – 0033485800132
Mobile – 0033633634241

Shared (Saver) Transfer – Each seat costs €30. Transfers depart approximately every 100 minutes daily.

Shared Transfer – Each seat costs €35. Transfers depart approximately every 60 minutes daily.

*Please note that if your flight is delayed or you arrive very early or late, it is better to book a Shared Transfer service as this option allows greater flexibility

Other options available include:

Private Transfer – One Way €175 (Available 24 Hours)
VIP Transfer – One Way €225 (Available 24 Hours)

From Price pp

€1,279

Loading Maps
TOURS NEARBY Trekking Mont Blanc